Spending My Time With Me

14 Sep

Hello, Internet. It’s been a while. I know because I had to do a password recovery before logging in to post, but truthfully, that could just be my mind, which works more like a senior citizen’s than a twenty-something’s.

I have been feeling guilty that I have not taken the time to sit down and “write it out” lately; taken some Me Time and used words to explore some of the thoughts and feelings I have had recently about the major changes happening in my life.

I have, however, taken some time to do other types of Me Time.

Shopping!

Work dress ala Mad Men

The Windows shopping monster attacked this weekend...

And they were on SALE!

Events!

It's football season!

True ballers scoff at your mosh pits (*scoff, scoff*)

Cooking!

Roasted chickpeas

Caprese Salad

Balsamic Chicken

On the subject of shopping and overall money spending… I may have gone a little wild with my student loans. I have never had student loans before – I was blessed enough to have an undergraduate degree completely funded by my parents. The deal they made with me, however, is that I had 4 years of college paid for – anything additional (extra semesters, classes I failed and needed to retake [read: none], grad school) would need to be funded by yours truly.

I decided to go back to school once I learned of the tuition assistance that would be provided by my job, and the presumption that nowadays you can’t get very far professionally with just a B.A. So back to school I go! I’m currently working 40 hours a week, going to class for 6 hours a week, studying and doing homework in the evenings, and, apparently, writing blog posts in my free time. It’s still early – only the second week in the semester – and I have plenty of time to get behind, but for now I am happily coasting along, thinking this grad school stuff ain’t so tough…

Logan's artistic rendering of me in 3 months.

Yeah, get back to me in late November.

Another major change is my newly, unwillingly, acquired singular status. I say singular because I am not single, but I am definitely alone. Boyfriend got a fancy new job and the training sent him to Middle of Nowhere, Illinois for training.

For.

Eight.

Weeks.

Eight weeks! How is that fair?

The phenomenon, let’s call it, of two people wanting to be together without physically being able to do so is very strange. I keep thinking of that majorly underrated movie, Wicker Park, with Josh Hartnett. The gist of the movie is that these two people meet and fall in love and then the girl just disappears, so he thinks she doesn’t love him anymore and is heartbroken, but what really happened is her evil friend who was jealous of their love sabotages their relationship and makes it so they can’t be together for 2 years, even though they both love each other desperately!

Steamy.

The difference between this movie and my situation is that each person thinks the other person doesn’t care about them while they are separated. This, thankfully, is not the case for me. Boyfriend and I have daily Skype dates and are still texting constantly. He has already sent me presents and I have shipped him a care package. He came home at the end of week 2 and will be returning for a weekend after week 5, which puts him home in 10 days. We’re more than halfway through it, but it still seems like an eternity.

Strangely, what I miss most is the routine of our relationship, specifically Sundays. Sundays are normally spent planning our week in food, visiting the farmer’s market, running errands, leisurely making dinner together… Very monotonous stuff, but made better when you can share it with someone. I have tried to keep the Sunday traditions alive while he is away, but that quickly became depressing. Equally depressing is making meals for one. This can have its upsides, like when I just want to eat cereal for dinner and am completely content in doing so (Boyfriend, if faced with a near-empty kitchen and the prospect of Cinnamon Toast Crunch at 8:00PM, would effortlessly whip up a three-course meal. I, unfortunately, do not have those kind of mad skillz).

While I have been ordering takeout more than I’d like to admit (thanks again, student loans!), I have been experimenting and utilizing the couple cookbooks I have acquired in the past month (although the balsamic chicken was concocted while Boyfriend was home for his first visit) as well as the bevy of blogs I follow in the hopes that some of their cooking prowess and frugal ways will eventually rub off on me. As a side note, I do find it quite ironic that I have such the affinity for spending money on certain things, like fine leather products, but still take the time to meal plan and shop the circulars. I definitely subscribe to the Casual Kitchen rules of frugality, which has made me feel way less guilty when I get my Mint statement.

Oops.

I have been trying to find a way to tie in all of these elements and leave you with a fantastic recipe that is equally cost effective, easy and delicious, but I am late for a lunch date with a Lean Cuisine. I know, I know. It was a last resort after spending last night with Neighbor Friends on the Party Patio for Monday Night Wine.

Sparkly.

Cheers!

2 Responses to “Spending My Time With Me”

  1. Slamdunk September 15, 2010 at 3:51 am #

    Yea football.

    Best wishes with the school thing–working and school makes for very full nights and days.

  2. Rachel September 15, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    Hi Maria – it’s Rachel (I essentially stalked your Facebook profile & discovered a blog, and when I see someone has a blog – moth toward flame mode takes over). You are a fantastic writer! Also – - you need to come over for dinner while Troy is away (and obviously we all need to get together when he’s here as well). Doug & I spent over half our pre-marriage relationship long distance, so we can commiserate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

