Juicing Journey: Day 3 Update

13 Jul

Sorry for the delay! Here is the final chapter in the juicing journey.

7:00AM: wake up and am feeling ok until that hungover feeling hits again — headache, dry mouth, sore throat. Bummer. Gotta get to work this morning, though.

8:30AM: trying to make these juices last so I delay my first green juice for as long as I can. Suck it down and realize how sick of this juice I am.

9:00AM: everyone at work thinks I am crazy for doing this cleanse.

10:30AM: PAM juice is so delicious. I’m trying not to be hungry, but am thinking about what I will and will not be able to eat the rest of the week with my post-cleanse tummies. D agrees it will be rough going.

12:30PM: it’s probably not a good thing that it is quiet at the office today — all I can think about is food. I literally gag down the final green juice. I just can’t stand the taste of it any more.

2:00PM: both D and I decide that we will break the fast tonight. Thinking about the upcoming days at work, neither of us want to be either hungry or uncomfortable as we navigate the post-cleanse.

3:00PM: it’s becoming increasingly difficult to resist my drawer of salty snacks these last couple hours of the work day. Items on my desk are starting to resemble food. That can’t be a good sign.

5:00PM: when I get home I finish the last of my cashew milk. I skipped my final CAB juice, as there was no way I was drinking a final glass of dirty beets. The cashew milk was filling, but I was still craving salt.

6:30PM: I couldn’t hold out any longer and made myself some kale chips. I could not wait to get those salty leafs into my mouth. I snuck a piece of raw kale as I was prepping. Chewing is weird.

7:00PM: kale chips are ready! I put them in a bowl and eat them like popcorn. They are so delicious, and I eat every last one.

7:15PM: get an almost immediate stomach ache. Guess salt wasn’t exactly what the belly wanted.

7:30PM: sooth belly with tea and lay on the couch the rest of the night. D and I both complain about stomach aches and share what we are most looking forward to eating again: carbs.

10:00PM: eventually go to bed, proud that I was able to get as far as I did on the juice cleanse.

When I wake up in the morning, my first thought is, “I get to eat today!” However, this is not the end of the journey. Since the end of the cleanse, I have had to reintroduce food to my stomach. The day after breaking the cleanse, the only thing I was able to eat was applesauce and a few almonds. This entire week I have found that it takes much less food for my body to feel full, which has caused me to eat smaller meals more frequently throughout the day. As of today, I have not had any meat,¬†caffeine, alcohol, or refined sugar since beginning the cleanse. I feel great, my stomach is flatter, and my skin is clearer. I hope to be back very soon with some thoughts on juicing, cleansing, and the overall experience.

Thank you for taking this journey with me, and a special thanks to D, who was a total trooper for attempting this experiment with me.

Cheers!

One Response to “Juicing Journey: Day 3 Update”

  1. d. August 2, 2012 at 7:29 am #

    Noteworthy news: less than a month since cleanse: both of us have admitted to wanting to do another cleanse! One day? Two days? I’m game. It’s a lot of work, but I’ve never participated in any diet plan or weekend retreat that has provided the enlighteninh on-going benefits of our BPC fast. To the future!
    In wellness and craziness, d.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

